Third Pegasus drawing for Things with Wings

It’s a little late for this, but I felt I needed to post it anyway. The below Pegasus drawing is currently hanging at the Vogt Visual Arts Center in Tinley Park, IL, along with the two others I’ve completed. If they do not sell of course, I will be showcasing them at the Brookfield Arts Festival July 10th and 11th 2010. What an exciting year for artwork!

Fly With Me; Pegasus drawing

Fly with me to where the sky ends. Fly with me and you will know freedom.

The show at Tinley Park ends June 30th! If you’re interested, and in you’re in the area, I recommend seeing it. Lots of great local arts have participated and it’s worth the visit.

This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Third Pegasus drawing for Things with Wings

  1. shayna says:

    hi there im eleven and love your drawings . i hope you dont mind but i had a go at drawing this picture (dont worry i even put a copy of daynascreations.com’s flywithme XD) i found it quite diffiicult and began to wonder how exactl you draw like this ? any tips for a begginer?????

    • dlysons says:

      Hi Shayna, Thank you for commenting on my blog! I’m grateful you found me and am pleased to see you’re pursuing drawing. I more than welcome any beginner to learn from my work and to use as practice just as long as the finished drawing isn’t claimed completely as your own and sold likewise. I’ve been drawing for as long as I can remember and have developed my skill over the years. For Fly With Me I used a photo reference I had taken of a horse at a barn I used to ride at. For the wings I had found a great photo of an owl from someone who offers many of their photos as free stock. The first step to drawing well is learning how to draw what you see. That is looking at a subject not as the subject itself but as many different shapes that combine to make the whole. A great exercise for beginning artists is to draw your hand without looking at the paper. Sounds strange I know. Find a comfortable place for the hand you don’t write or draw with, put your pencil on paper, pick a spot on your hand to start drawing from (for me I start with the forefinger), then follow with your pencil what your eye sees. I’d start with just the outline at first and then later progress to all the lines in your hand. Again, resist the temptation to look at the paper while you draw. The idea is to really see the detail in each curve and line of the subject. Don’t, I repeat, don’t worry about what the drawing looks like. I truly hope this helps you and I hope you continue to draw and pursue your desired artistic interest throughout your life! Happy drawing!

Leave a comment